The Objective of the Accident Research Unit

The main objective of the Accident Research Unit Hannover is to document and analyse road accidents with personell injuries. By doing so the Accident Research Unit delivers basic data for regulatory bodies, industry and other organisations. The data help to improve safety of vehicles and infrastructure and thus to avoid or mitigate injuries.

The accident data base records the most important information concerning the accident circumstances, the injuries, the accident causation etc.

Who are the adressees of the data?

  •  The regulatory bodies obtain the possibilities to observe the accident situation in detail and to recognise negative trends early. The detailed documentation of the accidents including vehicle damage, injuries and injury causation for vehicle occupants and vulnerable road users (e.g. pedestrians and cyclists) allows to develop rules and regulations. The results of the accident research community concerning the effectivity of safety belts and helmets considerably contributed to the negotiation of the rules and regulation of today and had a positive impact on the accident and injury Situation.
  • The automotive industry benefits from the possibilities to study the behaviour of their products in real world conditions and to compare the real world performance with the results from crash tests.

A broadcast footage of our work

Ziel der Unfallforschung

Die Verkehrsunfallforschung Hannover beschäftigt sich mit der Dokumentation und Auswertung von Verkehrsunfällen mit Personenschaden und liefert Grundlagendaten für den Gesetzgeber, die Industrie sowie auch andere Institutionen. Damit können Fahrzeuge und Verkehrsstrukturen sicherer gemacht werden, Verletzungen können vermieden oder gemindert werden.

In einer speziellen Unfalldatenbank werden wesentliche Informationen zum Unfallgeschehen, den Verletzungen und den Unfallursachen gesammelt.

 

Wem nützen die Daten?

  • Für den Gesetzgeber bestehen damit Möglichkeiten, das Unfallgeschehen genauestens zu beobachten und negative Entwicklungen frühzeitig zu erkennen. Durch die detaillierte Dokumentation des Unfallgeschehens mit sehr in die Tiefe gehenden Detailinformationen zu Fahrzeugdeformationen, Verletzungsquellen von Insassen und äußeren Verkehrsteilnehmern (Fußgänger und Radfahrer), können Gesetzesgrundlagen erarbeitet und Produktionsrichtlinien entwickelt werden. So wirkten sich Untersuchungen der Verkehrsunfallforscher zur Effektivität des Sicherheitsgurtes, zur Notwendigkeit des Radhelmes und zur Verletzungssituation des schutzhelmgeschützten Motorradfahrers bereits auf die Festsetzung von Gesetzesgrundlagen und Richtlinien aus, die schon heute positive Auswirkungen auf die Unfall- und Verletzungssituation haben.
  • Für die Automobilindustrie besteht die Möglichkeit, das Verhalten von Fahrzeugen im Unfallgeschehen zu beobachten und mit Hilfe von Informationen aus realen Unfällen Vergleiche zu Crashversuchen zu ziehen.

 

Sehen Sie sich das Video zu unserer Arbeit an